#1  
Old 04-12-2012, 02:38 PM
ntarver99 ntarver99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Unhappy Noiseware continually crashes PS (PC)

I saw your post response to someone who had problems with Noiseware crashing Photoshop 5 on a MAC, but I'm having the same problem with my PC. This is CRAZY frustrating.

Here's the answers to the relevant questions in your sticky:
OS - Windows 7, 32 bit
Memory - 3.50 GB
CPU - Intel Core i5 750 @ 2.67 GHz
Photoshop CS5
Noiseware v. Noiseware Professional Plug-in 4.2 (build 4205)
Camera models - Canon 5D, Canon 20D, Fuji S3
RAW or JPG - Jpg
Raw Converter - Adobe CameraRAW
8 or 16 bit - 8 bit
image size - 4256x2848/72 ppi
Working Color Space - RGB (sRGB)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2012, 04:14 PM
Eric Neilsen Eric Neilsen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 235
Send a message via Skype™ to Eric Neilsen
Default

ntarver99

Welcome to the forum. Typically issues with NW crashing PS are related to over taxing your system memory. Your PS CS5 preferences need to be looked at and adjusted. Reset your memory to 50%, reduce your history states to 20, and uncheck Export Clipboard. Also move your scratch to another drive other than your main HD if possible.

NW is memory intensive so if you are handicapping the system by running too much stuff which might include email program, web browser, business software, etc you can have issues.
__________________
Eric Neilsen
Dallas Based Photographer, Printer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2012, 08:00 PM
ntarver99 ntarver99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks so much for your response. I went and checked all those settings and this is what I found. My memory usage is at 79%, my history states are already 20, I've already had the export clipboard unchecked and the HD has more free space on it than our other drive, so that's where my scratch disk is located.

We don't have any email programs installed on that machine, it's strictly the Photoshop and InDesign computer. We typically only have Photoshop and Bridge running, possibly one webpage open when this happens. We'll try batching without having the Bridge open and see if that has any effect.

Does anyone else have any other suggestions or advice? Both my Noiseware and Portraiture have stopped working.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2012, 08:06 PM
George George is offline
Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 972
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntarver99 View Post
Thanks so much for your response. I went and checked all those settings and this is what I found. My memory usage is at 79%, my history states are already 20, I've already had the export clipboard unchecked and the HD has more free space on it than our other drive, so that's where my scratch disk is located.

We don't have any email programs installed on that machine, it's strictly the Photoshop and InDesign computer. We typically only have Photoshop and Bridge running, possibly one webpage open when this happens. We'll try batching without having the Bridge open and see if that has any effect.

Does anyone else have any other suggestions or advice? Both my Noiseware and Portraiture have stopped working.
79% is way to high for a 32 bit system so set your memory usage to 50% and set image interpolation to Bicubic Smoother and that should clear you up. If it doesn't, then either your swap drive and/or your memory is flaky or you have something running in background hogging memory I/O routines.
Regards,
George
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004-2012 Imagenomic, LLC. All rights reserved.